Americans, Bighorns Well Represented on AWHL All-League Team - News, Sports and Weather

Americans, Bighorns Well Represented on AWHL All-League Team

Posted: Updated:

GREAT FALLS - The Great Falls Americans Junior A Hockey team had four players and a coach that have been selected by the American West Hockey League (AWHL) for league honors during the 2013-14 season.

Aaron McInnis was the recipient of the AWHL's All-League Most Valuable Player as well as the Best Forward in the league. The Anchorage, Alaska natives along with teammate Donovan Mattfeldt were named to the AWHL First Team. The awards were voted on by the seven league coaches.

McInnis, who appeared in 38 games in his first year for the Americans, led the team in both goals (29) and assists (43) and ranked fifth in the league with 72 points. The "Best Forward" in the AWHL has help lead the third year franchise to their first playoff appearance. He also has led the team with six game- winning goals in his final year of eligibility in junior hockey.

Mattfeldt, a Glendale, Arizona native, recorded five goals and 24 assists in 42 games played along with 30 points. He earned AWHL All-League First Team honors on defense and was one of seven league players that received a Community Service Award.

Great Falls also had two players selected to the AWHL Second Team including Lucas Lomax and goaltender Erik Powell. Lomax, a forward from Phoenix, Arizona, has scored 22 goals and 29 assists during the 2013-14 season. Powell, who finished his second year in an Americans uniform as one of their goaltenders, has made 900 saves (0.932 saves percentage) in 28 games and a 19-6-3 record this season with a 2.57 GAA.

Jeff Heimel, the Americans Head Coach and General Manager, was named the 2013-14 American West Hockey League Coach of the Year. The second-year coach for the Great Falls franchise helped turn around the Americans with a second place finish and has compiled a 36-9-3 record this season after going 16-30-2 the previous season.

AWHL Honorees:

1st Team

Goaltender - Pierre Gustafsson, Glacier Nationals

Defense - Donovan Mattfeldt , Great Falls Americans

                Nick Okada, Helena Bighorns

Forwards - Aaron McInnis, Great Falls Americans

                  Gunnar Mogck, Bozeman Icedogs

                  Dylan Webster, Helena Bighorns


Second Team:

Goaltender - Sean Kelley, Gillette Wild

                     Erik Powell, Great Falls Americans

Defense -

                    Moco Willis, Gillette Wild

                   Ryan Webber, Helena Bighorns

                   Josh Newman , Yellowstone Quake

Forwards -

                   Lucas Lomax, Great Falls Americans

                   Sebastian Hansson, Helena Bighorns

                   Jimmy Tich, Yellowstone Quake


 AWHL All-League MVP - Aaron McInnis, Great Falls Americans

WHL Best Forward - Aaron McInnis, Great Falls Americans

Best Defenseman - Nick Okada, Helena Bighorns

Rookie of the Year - Gunnar Mogck, Bozeman Icedogs

Best Goalie - Pierre Gustafsson, Glacier Nationals

Coach of the Year - Jeff Heimel, Great Falls Americans

                               Mark Vichorek, Bozeman Icedogs

Scholastic Player of the Year - Robbie Lantz, Gillette Wild

Referee of the Year - Alex Aiken

AWHL Organization of the Year - Helena Bighorns

Community Service Awards Steven Nisbet, Bozeman Icedogs

Nikolas Nasby, Billings Bulls

Paul Kinder, Glacier Nationals

Edison Elder, Yellowstone Quake

Donovan Mattfeldt, Great Falls Americans

Theo Campe, Helena Bighorns

Josh Beatty, Gillette Wild


Powered by WorldNow


  • Sports
  • Community

  • Community
  • Powered by WorldNow
    All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and Max Media. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.