Van Diest, Blomquist Headline 15 Saints on Frontier All-Conferen - News, Sports and Weather

Van Diest, Blomquist Headline 15 Saints on Frontier All-Conference Teams

Posted: Updated:

HELENA, Mont. – Carroll College head football coach Mike Van Diest was named the Frontier Conference Co-Coach of the Year and Saints linebacker Sean Blomquist was named Frontier Conference Defensive Player of the year the conference announced Tuesday.

The award is the 10th for Van Diest but the first since 2011. Blomquist's honor is the second consecutive.

Van Diest shared the honor with veteran Eastern Oregon head man Tim Camp.

Fifteen Carroll players were named to the first or second all-conference teams.

The 10-1 Saints landed four offensive players, five defensive players and two special teams players on the Frontier Conference first team.

Four additional Carroll players were received second team nods from the conference.

Blomquist was joined on the first team by defensive linemen Sean Condon and Dakota Amy, linebacker Shayne Durbin and defensive back Shayne Durbin.

On offense, running back Dustin Rinker, wide receiver Anthony Clarke, Center Alex Kastens, and tackle Josh James earned first-team honors.

Punter Rhys Felton was named first team punter and Clarke received an additional first-team nod as a punt returner.

Quarterback Mac Roche and lineman Ryan Armstrong received offensive second-team honors. Defensively the Saints received two second team nods in defensive backs Matt Wymore and Ryan Gregory.

The top-ranked Saints host No. 8 Southern Oregon Saturday at 12 p.m. at Nelson Stadium. The Raiders also placed 15 players on the first or second team.

Powered by Frankly
Copyright - All content © 2001 - 2018. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.