Big Sky Women's All-Conference Teams Released - News, Sports and Weather

Big Sky Women's All-Conference Teams Released

Posted: Updated:

The Big Sky Conference has announced the Women's Basketball All-Conference team and individual award winners for the 2014-15 season. The awards were decided by a vote of the league's 12 head coaches.

Montana senior Kellie Rubel and Northern Colorado senior D'shara Strange were named Co-Most Valuable Player. Rubel was named First-Team All-Conference by a unanimous vote. It was her second first-team selection of her career.

This marks Strange's third time earning first-team honors. She returns to the All-Conference team after missing last season due to injury.

Also earning a spot on the first-team was Eastern Washington's Hayley Hodgins, Sacramento State's Fantasia Hilliard, North Dakota's Mia Loyd and Northern Colorado's Stephanie Lee.

Lee ranks second in the Big Sky in scoring with 17.2 points per game and is second on the Bears' squad in rebounding with 4.4 per game.

Hodgins leads the Eagles with 16.7 points per game and averages just over four rebounds per game.

Hiliard has been a key motivator in the Sacramento State attack. The senior leads the conference with 5.5 assists per game and is third in the conference in steals with 2.9 per contest.

Loyd has been a double-double machine this season. The junior leads the Big Sky with 16 double-doubles. She is also second in the conference in rebounding with 9.2 boards per game.

Idaho State junior guard, Apiphany Woods, was named the league's top newcomer. The transfer from State Fair Community College leads the Bengals in scoring with 14.9 points per game.

Eastern Washington freshman, Delaney Hodgins, was named the league's top freshman. She is averaging 10.8 points per game and 4.9 rebounds per game for the Eagles.

Montana senior Carly Selvig picked up the league's top defender honor. She leads the Big Sky in blocked shots with 2.7 per game while averaging 6.2 rebounds per game.

In a three-way tie, Sacramento State's Gretchen Harrigan, Idaho State's Megan Hochstein and Montana State's Peyton Ferris each picked up top reserve honors.

The Big Sky Coach of the Year will be announced Thursday, March 12.

The 2015 Big Sky Conference tournament will begin Wednesday, March 11 at the University of Montana. Tip-off is set for 11 a.m. Mountain between the No. 2 seed Sacramento State and the No. 7 seeded Bobcats of Montana State.

2014-15 Big Sky Women's All-Conference Team

First Team

Player, School Year Position Hometown

Kellie Rubel, Montana*# Sr. Guard Bozeman, Mont.

Hayley Hodgins, Eastern Washinton Jr. Guard Pasco, Wash.

D'shara Strange, Northern Colorado@ Sr. Forward Fountain, Colo.

Fantasia Hilliard, Sacramento State Sr. Guard Sacramento, Calif

Mia Loyd, North Dakota Jr. Forward Minneapolis, Minn.

Stephanie Lee, Northern Colorado Sr. Center Casper, Wyo.

Second Team

Player, School Year Position Hometown

Stacey Barr, Idaho Sr. Guard Melbourne, Australia

Jasmine Hommes, Montana State Jr. Forward Lynden, Wash.

Erikka Banks, Northern Arizona Sr. Forward Fresno, Calif.

Lexie Nelson, Eastern Washington Sr. Guard Butte, Mont.

Melissa Williams, Eastern Washington Sr. Forward Camas, Wash.

#Unanimous First Team selection; * Two-time First Team; @ Three-time First Team

Honorable Mention: McCalle Feller, Montana: Apiphany Woods, Idaho State: Gretchen Harrigan, Sacramento State: Jade Redmon, Eastern Washington: Kayleigh Valley, Montana: Maggie Rickman, Montana: Emily Evers, North Dakota: Desiree Jackson, Southern Utah: Raven Anderson, Northern Arizona: Emily Easom, Portland State.

Co-Most Valuable Player: Kellie Rubel, Montana & D'shara Strange, Northern Colorado

Defensive Player of the Year: Carly Selvig, Montana

Top Newcomer: Apiphany Woods, Idaho State

Outstanding Freshman: Delaney Hodgins, Eastern Washington

Top Reserve: Megan Hochstein, Idaho State; Gretchen Harrigan, Sacramento State; Peyton Ferris, Montana State

Powered by Frankly
Copyright - All content © 2001 - 2018. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.