Gregory, Breunig Earn Big Sky Basketball Honors - News, Sports and Weather

Gregory, Breunig Earn Big Sky Basketball Honors

Posted: Updated:

MCKINNEY, HARVEY HONORABLE MENTION ALL-AMERICANS: Sacramento State's Mikh McKinney and Eastern Washington's Tyler Harvey were both named Honorable Mention All-Americans by the Associated Press on Monday. The two Big Sky Conference men's basketball players led their respective teams to historic campaigns. McKinney, a 6-foot-1 senior guard from Union City, Calif., was named the Big Sky MVP and garnered First Team All-Conference honors for the second consecutive season. He finished second in the league with an average of 19.2 points per game, was third in assists at 4.9 per game, and led the league in steals with an average of 2.4 per game. McKinney shot .507 percent from the field, .803 percent from the free-throw line, and .430 percent from 3-point range. Harvey, a 6-4 junior guard from Torrance, Calif., will finish the season as the nation's leading scorer with an average of 23.1 points per game. Harvey made 128 3-pointers this season, a Big Sky single-season record. He leads the nation in 3-point field goals per game (4.0) and total 3-point field goals. Harvey was named first Team All-Big Sky for the second consecutive season. Harvey leads the Big Sky in free-throw percentage (.852) and is seventh in 3-point field-goal percentage (.431). The two are also finalists for the 2015 Lou Henson Award, which is presented annually to the Mid-Major player in division I college basketball. The finalists for the award also represent the Lou Henson All-America team. The winner will be announced on April 3.

SIX SELECTED TO NABC ALL-DISTRICT TEAM: Six Big Sky Conference student-athletes were selected to the NABC All-District 6 basketball team last week, including four to the first team. Eastern Washington's Tyler Harvey and Venky Jois were joined on the first team by Montana's Martin Breunig and Sacramento State's Mikh McKinney and New Mexico State's Pascal Siakam. Weber State's Joel Bolomboy and Northern Arizona's Quinton Upshur were selected to the second team, along with UMKC's Martez Harrison, Seattle's Isiah Umipig and New Mexico State's Daniel Mullings. Players from the Big Sky and WAC were eligible for the District 6 team.

HARVEY SETS 3-POINT RECORD: Eastern Washington's Tyler Harvey made six 3-pointers and scored 27 points in the Eagles' loss to Georgetown in the NCAA Tournament. Harvey finished the season with 128 3-pointers, a Big Sky single-season record. Harvey broke the previous record of 124 set by Northern Arizona's Stephen Sir in the 2006-07 season. Harvey attempted 297 3-point field goals and made .431 percent. Harvey enters the final week of the season leading the nation in 3-point field goals made and 3-point field-goals made per game. He also leads the nation in scoring at 23.1 points per game. His 738 points rank fourth all-time in league single-season history. Idaho State's Dave Wagnon scored 845 points during the 1965-66 season. ISU's Lawrence Butler scored 812 in 1978-89. Weber State's Damian Lillard scored 784 in 2011-12. Harvey has 260 career 3-point field goals, which ranks fifth in Big Sky history. He needs just 58 to tie the all-time record of 308 by NAU's Ross Land (1996-2000). Harvey has made 237 3-point field goals in the last two seasons. Harvey is now 24th on the Big Sky's all-time scoring list with 1,564 points. Harvey needs 539 points to become the Big Sky's all-time leader.

ALL-TOURNAMENT TEAM: Eastern Washington's Tyler Harvey was named the MVP of the 2015 Big Sky Conference Championship. He was joined on the all-conference team by teammate Venky Jois, Montana's Jordan Gregory and Martin Breunig, Northern Arizona's Kris Yanku and Sacramento State's Mikh McKinney. Gregory made the all-tournament team as a sophomore in 2013.

All-Tournament Team

MVP - Tyler Harvey, Jr., G, Eastern Washington

Venky Jois, Jr., F, Eastern Washington

Jordan Gregory, Sr., G, Montana

Martin Breunig, Jr., F, Montana

Mikh McKinney, Sr., G, Sacramento State

Kris Yanku, So., G, Northern Arizona

DECUIRE A FINALIST FOR JOE B. HALL AWARD: Montana's Travis DeCuire has been named one of 10 finalists for the Joe B. Hall Award, which is given annually by to the top first-year coach in college basketball. DeCuire guided Montana to a 20-13 record and a share of the regular-season title. The award will be presented on April 3

GREGORY NAMED TO USBWA ALL-DISTRICT TEAM: Montana senior Jordan Gregory was named to the United States Basketball Writers Association District VIII team. Gregory averages 16.9 points per game. Players from the states of Wyoming, Utah, Idaho, New Mexico, Colorado, Nevada and Montana were considered for the team. Delon Wright of Utah was named the District VIII Player of the Year. Boise State's Leon Rice was voted the District VIII Coach of the Year.

KATZ, HAYFORD UP FOR DURHAM AWARD: Sacramento State's Brian Katz and Eastern Washington's Jim Hayford are two of the 16 finalists for the Hugh Durham Award, which is presented by to the nation's top mid-major coach. The winner will be announced on April 3.

RPI UPDATE: Eastern Washington's RPI remained at 74 following its loss to Georgetown in the NCAA Tournament. NAU's run in the CIT has improved the Lumberjacks' RPI to 130. Sacramento State is at 142 and Montana is at 143. The Big Sky is rated 26th among Division I conferences.

Tip-ins: EWU, NAU, Sac St., and UM all won at least 20 games this season. This is the first time that four Big Sky teams have reached the milestone in a season...PSU's Collin Spickerman finished the season with 72 blocked shots, which is tied for seventh in Big Sky single-season history...WSU's Joel Bolomboy pulled down 306 rebounds this season, tying for 23rd most in Big Sky single-season history...Sacramento State's Dylan Garrity finished his career with 527 assists, which ranks sixth in Big Sky history....EWU junior Venky Jois has 184 career blocked shots, which ranks sixth in Big Sky history.

Powered by Frankly
Copyright - All content © 2001 - 2018. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.