Carroll College Wins 2014-2015 Bandy Memorial All-Sports Trophy - News, Sports and Weather

Carroll College Wins 2014-2015 Bandy Memorial All-Sports Trophy

Posted: Updated:

WHITEFISH, Mont., Apr. 27, 2015 – Carroll College is the winner of the 2014 - 2015 Bandy Memorial All-Sports trophy according to Frontier Conference Commissioner Kent Paulson.For the 2014-15 season, Carroll finished with 112.5 points followed by last season's Bandy winner Rocky Mountain College with 102.5 points. Westminster College, in their final season in the Frontier Conference, finished third with 100 points. Lewis-Clark State was fourth with 92.5 points, then the University of Great Falls with 84.5, Montana- State Northern with 44, Montana Tech with 38, Montana Western with 31, Southern Oregon with 12 and Eastern Oregon with seven points.

It is Carroll's 11th Bandy Award. Rocky and Montana Western are tied for the second most Bandy Awards with six each. Montana Tech has four, Lewis-Clark State has three and MSU-Northern has two.

Carroll claimed regular season conference titles in football and men's cross country. Lewis-Clark won titles in women's cross country and men's golf, and a co-championship in men's basketball. Westminster College was the conference champion in women's soccer, women's basketball and women's golf. Rocky Mountain College claimed the volleyball title. The University of Great Falls won the men's soccer championship.

The Bandy Award is presented each year to the conference school that has accumulated the most points based on its league finish in football, men's and women's basketball, men's and women's cross country, soccer, women's volleyball, and men's and women's golf.

The conference champion receives 17 points and the points decrease for each place after first with 12 points for second, 10 points for third, nine points for fourth, eight points for fifth, seven points for sixth, six points for seventh and three points for eighth.

The conference features five members in all sports: Carroll College, Montana State-Northern, Montana Tech, Montana Western and Rocky Mountain. Three schools in all sports except football: Lewis-Clark State, University of Great Falls and Westminster College. Eastern Oregon University and Southern Oregon University are conference members in football only.

The Bandy Award was first presented after the 1982-83 season with Western Montana College (now Montana Western) winning the award.

The all-sports trophy is named in honor of the first commissioner of the Frontier Conference, George Bandy, his wife Cheryl Ann and their 8-year-old son Michael, whom they had adopted two weeks earlier. The family died tragically in a boating accident in the summer of 1982 when their 14-foot sailboat overturned in high winds on Canyon Ferry Reservoir near Helena, Mont.

Powered by Frankly
Copyright - All content © 2001 - 2018. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.