Former Bruin Emmert to be Inducted in Carroll Hall of Fame - News, Sports and Weather

Former Bruin Emmert to be Inducted in Carroll Hall of Fame

Posted: Updated:

Carroll College Athletics will induct two teams and two individuals into the Carroll College Athletics Hall of Fame – Presented by Wendy's Saturday.  

The 2005 Fighting Saints NAIA national championship football team, and the 2000-01 Frontier Conference Champion men's basketball team will enter the hall as teams. Two-time All-American Gary Cooper and two-time NAIA Player of the Year Tyler Emmert will be inducted as individuals

Carroll professor and longtime Saint supporter John Runda will receive the Warren Nelson Award.

The inductees will be recognized at halftime of Saturday's homecoming football game against Rocky Mountain and there will be a social Saturday evening at the Campus Center at 6 p.m., open to all Carroll Alums, family and friends. Tickets for the social will be $15, light hors-d'oeuvres will be served and the Knights of Columbus will operate a bar for the evening.
2000-01 Carroll College men's basketball
The 2000-01 Carroll College men's basketball team set a school records in wins and earned the highest ranking in school history to date on their way to the third Frontier Conference championship in school history and a trip to the NAIA Tournament in Tulsa, Okla.  
J.D. Solomon was the first player in school history to earn First-Team All American honors after averaging 20.2 points and 7.7 rebounds per game.  Shane Gamradt earned Honorable Mention All-American Recognition after leading the nation in assists with 7.8 per game. Kirk Stiles was named first-team All-Conference and led the nation in Free throw percentage at 93 percent. Gary Lynch earned Honorable Mention All-Conference honors.
The Saints finished second to Westminster in the regular season with a record of 10-2 in conference and 23-5 overall. Carroll opened the conference tournament against Rocky Mountain and punished the bears for the 84-66 win.
In the semifinals of the conference tournament, the Saints snuck by Montana Western on a dunk at the buzzer by Solomon. The final took place on the home court of Westminster and, although the Saints lost at Westminster during the regular season, they pulled out a 78-75 win in the championship game when Stiles stripped the ball away from Frontier Player of the Year Mitch Montgomery in the final seconds and nailed free throws to seal the victory.
The Saints fell to Oklahoma Baptist 72-69 in the first-round of the NAIA Tournament to close out a season but it was a memorable one for players, coaches and fans alike.
2005 Football
The 2005 Carroll College football team went 14-0 to win the fourth-consecutive national championship, a feat that happened only three times at any level of football (North Dakota State – NCAA DI FCS - 2011-14, Augustana NCAA D III 1983-86).
The Saints dominated their way through the playoffs to set up a championship match against Saint Francis for the second-consecutive season.  The Saints outgained the Cougars 459-277 on their way to a 27-10 win. Tyler Emmert was 20-for-36 for 278 yards and three touchdowns with no interceptions and four Saints combined for 181 yards on the ground. 
The Championship was the culmination of a season in which the Saints were number one in the nation in total defense and scoring defense and second in the nation in scoring offense and scoring defense.
In dominating fashion, the Saints outscored opponents 496-132. The Saints racked up 3,334 yards passing and 35 passing touchdowns. On top of Emmert's excellence from the quarterback position, the Saints also had two 1,000 yard rushers in Ryan Grosulak and Jed Thomas and 31 rushing touchdowns. Tyler Peterson led the receiving corps with 1121 yards receiving.
Six Saints were named to the NAIA All-America First-Team highlighted by Emmert, who was named NAIA Player of the Year for the second time. Kyle Baker and Tyler Peterson joined Emmert on the offensive first-team, Jeff Shirley and Gary Cooper received first-team honors on the defensive side and Marcus Miller received special teams first-team honors.  Baker was also the first Saint to receive the Rimington award for the top center in the country.
Gary Cooper
A two-time All-American, two-year captain and the single-season record holder for tackles, Gary Cooper was a four-year player and starter on three national championship teams.
As a junior in 2004, Cooper tied Joe Horn for the school record in tackles at 146 and was named the Frontier Conference Defensive Player of the Year and the Defensive Player of the Year.  He helped lead the Saints to their third consecutive national championship, ranking third in the country for scoring defense and fourth in total defense. 
In 2005, he again led the Saints with 126 tackles, and anchored a squad that led the nation in total defense and scoring defense and for the third-consecutive season received Frontier All-Conference Honors. The Saints shut out two opponents in the playoffs and had a four-game scoring margin of 129-23.
Tyler Emmert
One of the most accomplished quarterbacks in college football history, Tyler Emmert led the Saints to four-straight national titles and still holds the All-Time Record for All-Divisions for Completion percentage, a staggering 70.4 percent.
Emmert was named to the NAIA All-American First-Team three times and was twice named the NAIA Player of the Year. In 2004 he was awarded the A.O. Duer Award a prestegious award given to just one amlae and one female athlete a year for athletic and academic success. He was also a two-year captain and his leadership was an important factor in the team's success.
The Carroll College single-season record holder for touchdowns, total yards, passing yards and passing touchdowns, Emmert also holds career records for total touchdowns, touchdown passes, passing yards, attempts, completions, total offense and completion percentage. He also holds the single-game record for touchdowns. After his successful playing career, he has gone on to successful career stops in engineering and banking, and mentors current Fighting Saints players as a wide receivers coach.  In January of 2014, Tyler was inducted into the NAIA Football Hall of Fame.

John Runda - Warren Nelson Award
Dr. John Runda is a visiting professor at Carroll College. He obtained his Ph.D. from the Ohio State University in 1980.  Runda's areas of specialization are the Sociology of Religion, Criminology, and Social Gerontology.  His career has been wide ranging and broad. He operated two long-term healthcare facilities in Kentucky while serving as the chairman of the Kentucky Parole Board.  Before teaching at Carroll College, he taught for twelve years at the University of Mobile, while twice being named the Interim Athletic Director, serving as the Faculty Athletics Representative and was elected as the president of the Gulf Coast Athletic Conference.
Dr. Runda has supported the Carroll College Athletic Department from behind the scenes by purchasing tickets for Carroll College students, faculty, and staff for the 2014 playoff game against Southern Oregon and supporting the SAA Auction for many years. 
Gifts given by Runda also enabled the Men's Basketball team to travel to Alabama and compete in games there. Mr. Runda's generosity has impacted many aspects of Carroll Athletics both on and off the field.
Runda currently teaches Criminology, Juvenile Delinquency, Community Corrections, Social Gerontology, and Addictions here at Carroll and is a valued member of the Sociology Department.

Carroll Sports Information

Powered by Frankly
Copyright - All content © 2001 - 2018. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.