MSU-Northern, Carroll and UGF Honored in Conference Preseason Ba - News, Sports and Weather

MSU-Northern, Carroll and UGF Honored in Conference Preseason Basketball Poll

Posted: Updated:


In a preseason poll of Frontier Conference women’s basketball coaches, MSU-Northern was picked to win the 2015-2016 league
title. The University of Great Falls was second followed by Lewis-Clark State, Carroll College, Rocky Mountain College, Montana Western and Montana Tech.

MSU-Northern received five first place votes and the University of Great Falls received two. In this year’s women’s poll, there was one ballot that gave both Carroll College and Lewis-Clark a second place vote in which the points for second and third were added together, divided by two with each receiving half of the total. 

The league’s men’s coaches selected the 2014-15 regular season co-champion and conference tournament champion Lewis-Clark State as their preseason favorite to win the 2015-2016 league title.

Montana Western, regular season co-champion from a year ago, was picked to finish second followed by Rocky Mountain College, Carroll College, MSU-Northern, University of Great Falls and Montana Tech. Lewis-Clark received five first place votes Montana Western received two. 

Votes were six points for first, five points for second, four points for third, three points for fourth, two points for fifth, three points for sixth and one point for sixth. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own team.

Men's Polls

1) Lewis-Clark State (5) 35
2) Montana Western (2) 31
3) Rocky Mountain 23
4) Carroll 22)
5) MSU-Northern 16
6) Great Falls 14
7) Montana Tech

Women's Polls

1) MSU-Northern (5) 33
2) Great Falls (2) 30
3) Lewis-Clark State 27.5
4) Carroll 21.5
5) Rocky Mountain 18
6) Montana Western 11
7) Montana Tech


Erin Legel of the University of Great Falls was selected as the Frontier Conference 2015-16 Preseason Women’s Basketball Player of the Year. Montana Western senior Dexter Williams Jr. was selected as the Frontier Conference 2015-16 Preseason Men’s Basketball Player of the Year.

The preseason all-conference teams were selected by the league’s coaches who were not permitted to vote for their own players.

After the preseason Player of the Year, the team is listed in alphabetical order.

Men’s Preseason Player of the Year:
Dexter Williams Jr., Montana Western, 6-4, senior forward

Men’s Preseason All-Conference Team

Oliver Carr, Carroll College, 6-6, senior forward
Zach Hinton, Rocky Mountain, 6-5, senior forward
Trevail Lee, MSU-Northern, 5-9, senior guard
Taylor Longo, Rocky Mountain, 6-1, junior guard
Zach Taylor, Carroll College, 6-0, junior guard
Jacob Wiley, Lewis-Clark State, 6-6, junior forward

Women’s Preseason Player of the Year:
Erin Legel, University of Great Falls, 5-5, senior guard

Women’s Preseason All-Conference Team

Natalie Faupel, MSU-Northern, 5-10, junior guard/forward
Cassidy Hashley, Carroll College, 6-2, sophomore forward
Whitney Mitchell, Rocky Mountain, 5-7, senior guard
Nneka Nnadi, University of Great Falls, 5-9, junior guard
Caelyn Orlandi, Lewis-Clark State, 5-9, junior guard

Powered by Frankly
Copyright - All content © 2001 - 2018. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.