Helena Officials Sworn In - KFBB.com News, Sports and Weather

Helena Officials Sworn In

Posted: Updated:

Helena mayor Jim Smith conducted this mornings ceremony swearing in new city commissioners Ed Noonan and Robert Farris-Olsen.

Farris-Olsen and Noonan came out on top in a close race between five candidates running for two open seats on the Helena city commission. They replaced Katherine Haque Hausrath and Matt Alsaesser who did not seek reelection to the commission. The new commissioners begin their work this month.

"Tackle some of the issues that I mentioned in my campaign. Ensuring we have responsible growth through proper annexation policies as well as ensuring we have business development downtown to bring people back downtown," said Farris-Olsen about what he plans to accomplish as a city commissioner.

Also sworn in this morning in Helena...former Secretary of State Mike Cooney was sworn in as Montana's 32nd lieutenant governor

Governor Steve Bullock named Cooney as his third lieutenant governor last Wednesday replacing Angela McLean who resigned to work in higher education. Cooney had been previously working as deputy commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry. His lieutenant governor's salary is about $22,000 per year less than he received in his previous post.

The first city commission meeting of the year and the first that Farris-Olsen and Noonan will take part in will be an administrative meeting this Wednesday at 4pm at the city county building, room 326.

Powered by Frankly
Copyright - All content © 2001 - 2018. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.