Complaint filed against Bob Edwards - KFBB.com News, Sports and Weather

Complaint filed against Bob Edwards

Posted: Updated:

CASCADE COUNTY: The race for Cascade County Sheriff is getting heated with just 4 days left until voters decide who is moving on to the general election.  Thursday Corey Reeves filed a complaint with the Montana Political Practices office stating Bob Edwards violated Montana code which states 10 days prior to an election,  a candidate must notify their opponent if they plan to use their name or image in an ad.

Reeves' complaint, submitted on behalf of the Slaughter for Sheriff campaign, states Edwards had been doing this for a month but, it was his most recent Facebook ad that seems to have landed the current sheriff in hot water.

The ad uses Jesse Slaughter's name and image and did so without his campaigns knowledge.  Once Edwards found out about the mishap he immediately took the ad off of Facebook and contacted the Political Practices office.  He was advised to send a copy to their office along to Slaughter's campaign.  The ads were sent over Friday morning and Edwards is confident this is taken care of.

In a statement on Slaughter's campaign Facebook page he wrote, " Though my team and I are committed to running a campaign free of negative statements about my opponents, I am not naïve to the fact that my opponents may publish attack language about me or my campaign. I do, however, expect my opponents to follow the law, without exception.  Election laws are put in place to protect the voice of the citizens of Montana. The recent complaint filed with the Montana Commissioner of Political Practices was simply a request for the sitting Sheriff to adhere to Montana law."

We've reached out to Slaughter for a comment on the issue however, he has not returned our phone calls or emails.

The official complaint filed with the Montana Office of  Political Practices can be found below. 

  • Most Popular

  • NewsMore>>

  • Presidential plane lands in Great Falls

    Presidential plane lands in Great Falls

    Thursday, October 18 2018 7:35 PM EDT2018-10-18 23:35:30 GMT
    Thursday, October 18 2018 7:35 PM EDT2018-10-18 23:35:30 GMT
    KFBB is receiving reports that a presidential plane has landed in Great Falls at the Montana Air National Guard. It is unclear what exactly the plane is doing at MANG, although it is suspected the plane could be apart of the President's fleet and there wasn't room at the Missoula International Airport for the entire fleet to land.  Our Ricky Blackburn is currently on the scene at the airport, and is working to bring us more information as it becomes available. 
    KFBB is receiving reports that a presidential plane has landed in Great Falls at the Montana Air National Guard. It is unclear what exactly the plane is doing at MANG, although it is suspected the plane could be apart of the President's fleet and there wasn't room at the Missoula International Airport for the entire fleet to land.  Our Ricky Blackburn is currently on the scene at the airport, and is working to bring us more information as it becomes available. 
  • Company behind Black Butte Copper Mine facing campaign allegations

    Company behind Black Butte Copper Mine facing campaign allegations

    Wednesday, October 17 2018 5:24 PM EDT2018-10-17 21:24:27 GMT
    Wednesday, October 17 2018 5:52 PM EDT2018-10-17 21:52:59 GMT

    Sandfire Resources, the Australian-based company behind the Black Butte Copper Mine in White Sulphur Springs, is getting some heat tonight from proponents of Initiative 186. I-186 is a ballot initiative that would increase mining regulations, specifically with regards to water pollution.

    Sandfire Resources, the Australian-based company behind the Black Butte Copper Mine in White Sulphur Springs, is getting some heat tonight from proponents of Initiative 186. I-186 is a ballot initiative that would increase mining regulations, specifically with regards to water pollution.

  • Local band, L.A. bound

    Local band, L.A. bound

    Sunday, October 14 2018 7:49 PM EDT2018-10-14 23:49:44 GMT
    Sunday, October 14 2018 7:54 PM EDT2018-10-14 23:54:30 GMT

    GREAT FALLS- Five guys from Great Falls, one band, and a shot at recording in L.A. They're called Call Of The Awakened. They've been together since high school jamming out to hard rock and metal music, and now they're heading to L.A. in February for three weeks to record their second album. However, this journey didn't come easy. Besides the struggle of breaking into one of the toughest industries in the world, two members also dealt with major heartbreak.  "We were gettin...

    GREAT FALLS- Five guys from Great Falls, one band, and a shot at recording in L.A. They're called Call Of The Awakened. They've been together since high school jamming out to hard rock and metal music, and now they're heading to L.A. in February for three weeks to record their second album. However, this journey didn't come easy. Besides the struggle of breaking into one of the toughest industries in the world, two members also dealt with major heartbreak.  "We were gettin...

  • Bayern Brewery reaches out to Great Falls for glass recycling

    Bayern Brewery reaches out to Great Falls for glass recycling

    Sunday, October 14 2018 7:17 PM EDT2018-10-14 23:17:14 GMT
    Sunday, October 14 2018 7:22 PM EDT2018-10-14 23:22:40 GMT

    Jurgen Knoller, the CEO of Missoula's Bayern Brewing, leads the brewery's innovative recycling program and says he wants to start accepting glass from Great Falls.

    Jurgen Knoller, the CEO of Missoula's Bayern Brewing, leads the brewery's innovative recycling program and says he wants to start accepting glass from Great Falls.

Powered by Frankly
Copyright - All content © 2001 - 2018. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.